Plagiarism

There’s been a lot of talk about plagiarism lately. CIT have this new-fangled-doohickey (technical term) that will detect if any work we submit has borrowed liberally from someone Else’s work.

Course, as this Internet becomes all encompassing and prevalent, and students been given less the benefit of the doubt, it may (will) come to the stage where we’re at the thieved end. So, how to solve this? We all know about copyright, trademark etc, but what to do if this is infringed on?

Found this article which goes some way to answering this.

The main reason I post this is; in college, we’ve all been told about it, all been told what to do, but all in a very broad way. This website also shows you exactly how to find to find out if your content has been stolen, and what to look out for, something that hasn’t been explained to us in any technical way to us in CIT anyway. Also, with a big increase in online portfolios, its good to know that we have a leg to stand on.

Also, for those who don’t intend to have their content online (unlikely the way trends are going), or plain just don’t care (useful link here about that), there’s a lot of tips here for WordPress blogs and blogging in general.

No stupid jokes or ridiculous metaphors here, I’ve been awake since half 6 and still dying with the flu. Thought that I might as well be somewhat productive with my time.

11 Responses to Plagiarism

  1. LOL. Plagiarism has been around for hundreds of years. I love it that you feel like you are hearing about it “a lot lately.” :D

    I’m glad you found my article helpful. I recently declared this the Year of Original Content (on the Blog Herald) in an attempt to spread the word even further that we need to get the duplicate content clogging up the web, especially on splogs, out of circulation and bring back the honor in creating something unique and original.

    Thanks for helping to spread the word. Literally. :D

  2. Paul Kennedy says:

    No problem. There’s so much talk in colleges about what they’ll do if you plagiarize someone, but next to nothing on what to do if you’re the victim.

  3. Ahaa, its fastidious discussion about this piece of writing at
    this place at this webpage, I have read all that, so at this time me also commenting here.

  4. Hi, i think that i saw you visited my website so i came to “return the favor”.I’m trying to find things to enhance my website!I suppose
    its ok to use some of your ideas!!

  5. Wow, awesome weblog structure! How lengthy have
    you been running a blog for? you made running a blog
    look easy. The whole glance of your website
    is wonderful, let alone the content material!

  6. loss surgery says:

    Its like you read my mind! You appear to know so much about this, like you
    wrote the book in it or something. I think that you can do with a few pics to drive the message home a little bit,
    but instead of that, this is fantastic blog. An excellent read.
    I’ll definitely be back.

  7. youtube says:

    I am sure this paragraph has touched all the internet people, its really really pleasant article on building up new web
    site.

  8. youtube.com says:

    I always emailed this webpage post page to all my contacts, for the reason that if like to read
    it next my friends will too.

  9. I pay a quick visit daily some web sites and information sites to read posts, except this weblog
    gives quality based writing.

  10. Hi terrific website! Does running a blog similar to this take a massive amount
    work? I have virtually no knowledge of coding however
    I was hoping to start my own blog in the near future.
    Anyway, should you have any recommendations or tips for new blog owners please share.
    I understand this is off subject but I simply
    wanted to ask. Thanks a lot!

  11. see video says:

    Superb blog you have here but I was curious if you knew of
    any community forums that cover the same topics discussed in
    this article? I’d really like to be a part of online community where I can get responses from other knowledgeable people
    that share the same interest. If you have any recommendations, please
    let me know. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

